Di Galpin

In January (2014)I wrote a blog regarding the setting of thethreshold for the ‘duty of candour’ suggesting Mr Hunt had ignored advice from David Behan onthe inclusion of’moderate harm’. Since writing the Department of Health Media Centrecontacted me, via Twitter, to tell me Mr Hunt had not, as I suggested,ignored David Behan. After several requests to the media centre for further clarification they have now sent me a link to a document published in March this yearentitled ‘Introducing the StatutoryDuty of Candour: Aconsultation on proposals to introduce a new CQC registration regulation’.

I think this was supposed to clarify the issue for me, instead it has left me somewhat perplexed. It appears health and social care will be using different thresholds.

For Healthcare

In the regulations, the harm threshold for healthcare is set at the threshold recommended by Dalton/Williams to include ‘moderate’ harm. This means that all harm that is…

View original post 406 more words

Leave a Reply

