Care Homes in england failing vulnerable adults…..really……

Care Homes in england failing vulnerable adults?  (BBC News). This is how I, and virtually every practitioner and writer I know on this subject feels when they read this headline  CLICK HERE . Yes, horrified that no matter how often abuse is revealed very little seems to change.

How many more times are we going to have to read yet another report, see another undercover film, how many more vulnerable adults have to suffer before we really try to get to grips with this situation????????????

Sorry, having left practice 7 years ago because of the poor levels of care I witnessed as a social worker and having worked for two years on a doctorate concerned with trying to understand why we abuse and mistreat those most vulnerable in society, I really really find it distressing that we are having the same discussion and have not moved forward to find a resolution more quickly.

To read a related new blog Click Here

About digalpin

I gained my social work qualification from the University of Southampton and worked for 14 years in mental health, disability and older people services. I am currently a senior lecturer in post-qualifying social work at Bournemouth University and am conducting research on government and societal attitudes and responses to the mistreatment of older people in health and social care provision for my doctorate. My views are my own.

Leave a Reply

